A match I refereed yesterday...

Tim7

Retired Footballer
6 May 2003
Gravesend
Charlton Athletic FC
Well, as some of you know, I am a referee, just doing local level at the moment, and yesterday I refereed a top division Sunday League match between Real Gima FC and Top House FC. I have had no trouble with either side before yesterday...

Well, it was going fine, then Top House lost the plot! Gima were on the counter attack, lino flagged, I overuled him, Gima scored. Then I went over to the lino and asked him and explained to him that I was overuling him as I felt it was onside.

Then about 5 Top House players all came up to me arguing etc, then two of them called me a cunt, and one of them called me a cheat, so i sent all 3 of them off, as you should.

We played the last 10 mins of the half. Then at half time the Top House player/manager who I had sent off came over and apologized and even said I was right to do what I did. And he said that 2 of their team had been called into work and 1 was injured so they didn't have enough players to play the 2nd half, so it was abandoned.

The teams went into the dressing rooms and got showered etc, meanwhile I was waiting outside for it to calm down a bit, and chatting with the Gima secretary and Swanscome secretary (who was up there watching).

Then one of the players I sent off came out after being showered and came up to me talking about it, and I quite calmy said I don't want to talk about it, go away please. Then he went off on one saying, and I quote: "You're a fucking joke. I know where you live, (then he said the name of my road), and I'm going to make your life a fucking misery."

So I waited for him to leave then went home and reported it to the police and the Kent County FA.

It just makes me think like, why do people go mental over a Sunday league game of football? Sure, every time I play myself I want to win - who doesn't? But to take it that far, I dunno really, mental.

No stupid replies either please guys.