Rocksmith

beachryan

Golden Boot Winner
4 July 2003
Bermuda
Not sure if anyone has been paying attention to the upcoming Ubisoft game 'Rocksmith' - but I'm seriously stoked.

It's basically Guitar Hero/ Rock Band but for, gasp, real guitar.

http://rocksmith.ubi.com/rocksmith/en-US/home/

I'm not very good at guitar, but am learning, and think this game is going to be amazing for that. It also makes me feel a bit better about investing my time into a game - getting a pratical, 'real' skill out of it is somewhat unparalleled.

I guess this was always a logical move after the GH/RB series, but still, will be interested to see how well it works.

Will have a look at this in more detail when I get a chance.
My son has just started guitar lessons so this looks interesting.

Cheers for the heads up.

As a quick followup - bought this over the weekend - it is immense. I'm learning guitar as a bit of an afterthought, dwlding tabs I like and trying them out, and this is just amazing. Once you've got it all setup, it plays just like Guitar Hero/Rock Band - except you need to actually play the right notes/ strings.

Tbh the song list isn't that compelling to me, but there are all these really smart 'mini games' that teach you scales, sliding, phrasing and so forth that are brilliant. Because they're on the tv, you have to look up and can't look at the frets - it's forcing me to have some good habits early on.

I realise it's a bit more expensive than most games, so if anyone has any q's let me know. Best bit is the wife loves it - never thought we'd play a game together!

Hrm, I bought it for PS3. Not sure it'll be all that easy to mod tracks - they're pretty involved in the way that the difficulty evolves.

You get an adapter with it which is just 1/4 inch to USB. There's a cool mode where you can run your guitar into other guitars/ amps/ pedals.

Only caveat is that I had to switch to optical because the HDMI lag was too high. In optical it's perfect.