Wireless Surround Sound System

Tim7

Retired Footballer
6 May 2003
Gravesend
Charlton Athletic FC
As the title suggests really! I'm looking for a new surround sound system with wireless rear speakers. Got a budget of about £300. Any recommendations? :))

I've no personal experience of a wireless system, but what I will say is there is no such thing as true wireless speakers. All you are doing is cutting out the speaker wire from the AV receiver to the speaker. Each speaker still needs power, therefore what you lose in speaker wire you more than gain in power cables to each speaker.

Also, I've heard that the sound quality through wireless systems is nothing special.

Personally I would think again about whether you need a wireless system or not. With my setup I run the speaker wire through some D-Line trunking (http://www.d-line.co.uk/) around the skirting board and the end result looks nice and tidy.

Hmm, thanks Jamezinho, but my cable isn't long enough to reach from the amp to the rear speakers, plus I can't run it around the skirting board as there's an open archway one side. I knew the rear speakers need power and that won't be a problem. I guess I'll continue looking online. There's a nice one I saw on amazon, a Samsung one for £318.

If the power cables and supply is not an issue then go for it. I'd be interested to hear what you think of it.

@ Lami - RUF is in instead mate.

Yeah, I couldn't find a bad word written about it on the internet so I went for it! Got the Wireless Samsung receiver too! Might take a while to arrive though.

Just received it and wired it all up, connected everything etc, fucking thing won't even turn on. All that happens is the red power button on the unit flashes dim red and bright red. Won't respond to anything.

Just received it and wired it all up, connected everything etc, fucking thing won't even turn on. All that happens is the red power button on the unit flashes dim red and bright red. Won't respond to anything.